Friday, September 18, 2015

PET PEEVE GOLD BY GUESTS, BRITTANY AND SHANNON

Blogs are so great to create, but when other people join in, they are just great fun.

Purely Pet Peeves continues with two guest Peevers (does that sound creepy in some weird way?), Brittany and Shannon. One lives in Florida and one in Texas, so we are going from Coast-to-middle America with these.

Read on and then let us hear from you Peevers!

BRITTANY, of Florida...My car pet peeve is people not using blinkers. I find myself waiting to pull out of a parking lot watching the car 5 miles away slowly come towards me. Right when I think I can't take anymore they turn. Now I've wasted 5 minutes that I could have turned on!
 
People who don't put their dogs on leashes and are like "oh she's nice," yea and what happens when a 'not nice' dog shows up or your dog runs into traffic???

Or when you are walking to the line and someone sees you and purposefully races to get in front of you
 
##
 
SHANNON, of Texas...ONE of my pet peeves is when you only have 1 small item in line at the store, & the person in front of you has a HUGE buggy of items & does not offer you to go on & check out before them.

And another one is...well I never noticed this much until my Husband pointed it out to me, now I notice all the time, people crunching chips LOUDLY

Oh, and another pet peeve of mine is when people just leave clothes they try on & do not want to purchase piled up in the dressing room.

##

NOTE: One plus I never considered when posting...

Peevers being guilty of committing the peeves of others. Clear?

Let me explain.

Brittany freely admits being guilty of committing one of Shannon's Pet Peeves. Leaving clothes in dressing rooms.

Now, I want to know who among us is guilty of any of these peeves?

Me?

Okay, I MAY have hurried to beat someone in line at the grocery store. But, I always let people with a few items go ahead of me when I have a huge cart of stuff. Honest!

Thank you, Brittany and Shannon.

Comment here or on my Facebook page (you have to friend me, sorry).

Stay tuned, more PP Gold by guests, coming up!



 
 


 

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

PET PEEVE GOLD, BY GUEST, THE DIVINE MS. DIANE

 So great are the pet peeves coming in from others. I will call these...Pet Peeve Gold.

The first (and will not be the last from her) are from, the Divine Ms. Diane. These are SO good, but the one about the cats in her neighborhood is really sad.

Take it away...

  • People who take "a few" grapes at the grocery store, you know, just so they can make sure they're stealing the tasty grapes. 

  • People who throw lit cigarette butts out of their car windows, with absolutely no regard to where they might land and start a fire, including inside an open convertible. 

  • People who let their cats run loose outside and then expect sympathy when they're run over or eaten by a coyote. (Happens in our neighborhood a lot.) 

  • Yard maintenance people who blow all the leaves and trimmings into the street, expecting it all to magically disappear. 

  • Yard people who fire up the industrial strength lawnmowers and string trimmers every single solitary Saturday morning between 6:45 an 7:00 a.m. (Same neighbor who ignores watering restrictions.) 

  • Anybody who rides a Harley through a residential neighborhood past midnight, especially if they gun it up. 

  • Orders that are wrong in the drive-thru, because you are screwed and you KNOW they're laughing at you. 

  • People who use their phones during movies, lighting up half the theater. 

  • People who talk back at the screen during movies, like they're at home. 

  •  People who flip you off - or vandalize your car -if you dare to put a bumper sticker on it and they don't agree with your politics. This is a particular problem for liberals in Texas. 

  • Anybody who invites you over for dinner, and then forces you to pray with them whether you want to or not. Even worse, they demand to pray at your house even if you don't do that. 

  •  People who change babies at a booth in a restaurant. 

  • Anybody who plants trees and neglects to water them, then they pull them up and demand a refund at the local garden center.
Stay tuned. Coming up...Pet Peeve Gold by, Brittany and Shannon.

Monday, September 14, 2015

PEEVES TWO

I could just make this Pet Peeve blog one LONG list. I mean who needs chapters?

So, I decided I will refrain from calling them anything as worthy as a chapter.

Let the pet peeves, Section Two, continue...

  • Being seated by the restroom at a nice (or crummy restaurant) when there are plenty of other available tables. Yes, I do know the difference.

  • Being given marginal service at a restaurant by the server because I am a female, and considered a lousy tipper (I do 20%, only lower when the service is really bad, and then it is no lower than 15%).

  • Being given, what I like to call, the smug-treatment in certain stores (insert the Tampa, Florida-Neiman Marcus, Bloomingdale's, all the stores on Worth Avenue in Palm Beach, and even Bed, Bath & Beyond on certain days).

  • When the guy/gal at the deli counter at Publix (local food chain) silently judges me, and sighs loudly, for taking too long to pick a cheese, even when I am the only one standing there.

  • When your favorite table, at your favorite restaurant is taken by tourists (I live in a tourist area for a great part of the year).

  • When in a retail store and you, inadvertently, ask a non-employee who is stocking the shelves/taking inventory a question and they don't even look at you, just shake their heads and say, loudly, they do NOT work at the establishment.
What do have to say to/add to these peeves?

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

In The Beginning

Pam's Pet Peeves.

We all have them, right?

I wonder, when do they first slither into our grey matter?

For me, I think at birth.

Basically, I am an upbeat and positive individual, but I can imagine being annoyed (the early stages of pet peeves) at having to go pee-pee and poo-poo into a cloth diaper. I mean that stuff can really ruin the look of totally cute baby-garb.

They (family through the years) claim I hated a messy diaper and was potty-trained at a very early age. As the baby of the family, I suspect it had nothing to do with my attire, and more like potty-training via osmosis.  I'm clever that way (insert your scowl and sniff of sarcasm at any point). Seriously, if everyone else was using the toilet, I was not going to be left out of that party.

##

Early pet peeves are clearly etched into my memory.

As the aforementioned youngest child, I was relegated to always perching my skinny bottom in the backseat of the family car. We only had one.

My older (and beloved) sister always claimed the rights to the front seat when our Father was out of the picture, and our Mother was the designated driver. This was not negotiable, and our Mother seemed oblivious to my plight. I suspect she had bigger fish to fry, like dealing with us. She just did not have the inclination to give two figs about our seating status.

Listen, my childhood was way before kids had to sit in a car seat, in the backseat, facing the rear until ready to drive the car themselves.

No, back in the day all child-safety bets were off, and it was more of an anything goes sort of safety crap-shoot.

Something interesting did happen on occasion (when big sis had big-kid shenanigans to handle). As a very young child, I have vivid memories of standing in the front seat while my Mother drove. She didn't worry about a thing in the world, least of all me standing near a huge sheet of glass, while in a motorized-vessel going well over 30 MPH.

Nope, my Mother, who was a very good parent, was secure in the knowledge that things were completely under her control. Here was the deal--in the event any necessary quick-stops, slamming on the brakes or fender-benders, her child (me) was safely tucked behind her shoulder.

See?

Totally safe as I stood, unencumbered by any restraints, in that front seat gaping at the scenery whizzing past.

Pet Peeve in this scenario?

Not that I was a child during a time when safety was of zero concern to car-makers (I won't throw parents under the chassis at this juncture-they were in ignorant-bliss). We all know Ford and GM could have put seatbelts into cars WAY before they were forced to do so.

Here it is...NEVER getting to sit in the front seat of the family car until my sister left home, made me peevish. By the time she left home, who cared? Not me.

However, I believe this did lead to my, correct, decision to have only one child.

My child would know what it was like to actually see where we were going.

But, as these things go...the world went completely safety-crazy and baby seats, seatbelts and airbags arrived on the scene. Suddenly, ALL kids had to sit their skinny bottoms in the damned backseat.

There is no justice in this world.

Obviously, this entire backseat riding thing is still a major pet peeve to me and I admit to mumbling about it to my family.

These days, I strap my two-year-old granddaughter into her huge-ass carseat in the backseat of cars so she can, just like her Gigi (me), see absolutely nothing but the back of everything.

Oh, how things change, yet remain quite the same.

Let us hear from you. We know you have pet peeves, so post in the comments.